Heroin possession has some of the harshest criminal penalties in Oklahoma and the rest of the United States. Depending on a number of factors, individuals convicted of heroin possession or sale can face serious legal consequences. Here is what you should know about the criminal penalties for drug crimes in Oklahoma.
What are the criminal penalties for heroin possession in Oklahoma?
The penalties for heroin possession are comparably lighter than for heroin sale or trafficking drug charges, but they are still substantial. Possession of any quantity of heroin in Oklahoma is a felony. First-time offenders face 2-10 years behind bars, repeat offenders face 4-20 years, and third-time offenders face 6-60 years or triple the penalty for a first-time offender.
If you are caught with the substance within 1,000 feet of a school or in the presence of a minor under 12, the penalty increases two-fold.
What are the criminal penalties for heroin sales in Oklahoma?
Selling heroin, or possession of large quantities with intent to distribute is much more serious than simple possession. The initial penalty for a first-time offense is five years to life plus a $100,000 possible fine. Similar to possession, the penalties increase with each offense.
Oklahoma drug court programs
Some offenders, particularly first-time offenders charged with possession, may qualify for a drug court program that reduces or eliminates a prison sentence. Being aware of and asking for this program may help increase your chances of avoiding a prison term if you are caught with heroin in Oklahoma.
Even small amounts of heroin used for personal recreational purposes can land you in serious trouble in Oklahoma with the potential of multiple years behind bars if you are convicted. Deploying an effective legal strategy is essential for minimizing the penalties you face if convicted.